Posted by: callalilystudio | May 13, 2010

Caged Bird

Bird Cage

Tim Holtz’s Caged bird die is my favorite!  I just can’t stop using it!  This is another bird cage, similar to the one I did for Mother’s Day, with different embellishments.   I used Tim’s Distressed Inks to color the bird cage, Wild Honey and Vintage Photo are my favorites to give anything that aged look.   Then I sprayed the cage with a mixture of Sapphire and Patina which gave it almost an aged iron look.   I don’t know if you can see it in the photo.  This time I used a 3″ plastic ribbon holder to hold the form of the cage at the bottom.  The pedastal the cage is sitting on is an empty glue dots container.   When we visited Northern Maine in April, I stopped into a used bookstore and found a great used hymnal for $2.00.  I love using it whenever I can for backgrounds and such.  Tim’s inks help age these sheets too!

Items used for Bird Cage

These are some of the items I used to make the Bird Cage.  Although, the empty plastic circles are much smaller than the 3″ one I used- I just wanted to show you the type I used.  One more picture of the cage-

Another Angle

Responses

  1. Great job! It looks like alot of work. I didn’t notice the hymnal paper on the Splitcoast picture. But I am at school and can’t see things on my laptop as well. Looks fab!

  2. Love what you did with the die – I’m considering getting this and you may have just convinced me! The hymnal paper is a nice touch.


Leave a Reply

Categories

