Posted by: callalilystudio | July 20, 2010

Chocolate Birthday Cake

Sister's Chocolate Birthday cake

I am loving Carol’s cake template that I used to make the above birthday cake for my sister.  Her blog has templates and instructions for all kinds of cool cards!    You can find the template I used here- ( Be sure and scroll down to find it!)

http://extremecards.blogspot.com/search?updated-min=2010-01-01T00%3A00%3A00-05%3A00&updated-max=2011-01-01T00%3A00%3A00-05%3A00&max-results=42

I used Martha Stewarts border punch and her balloon punch to embellish this card.  The confetti is a Sizzix die cut.  The “chocolate” paper I used was tougher to use with all the folds.  I think I like the “white” cake paper much better.  It was still really fun to make! I am in the process of making a special gift for her to celebrate her big 4-0!  I will share pictures when it is completed.  What I wouldn’t give to be 40 again!  Happy Birthday, Adrianne!

Responses

  1. I LOVE LOVE LOVE this in chocolate! (You really have to score hard on paper that thick. Check the grain of the paper, too. You want it running the direction of the folds, not the direction of the cuts.)

    • Thank you for the tip! The thickness of the paper did make it harder to work with but I think the more practice -hopefully, the better I will get at it. I loved the result and I think my sister will too! Thank you for all your inspiration and instruction on your fabulous blog!


Leave a Reply

Categories

